Food

Chicken Pineapple Bowls

Good Morning Readers 🙂 I hope all is well with you lovely folks. I have been slacking on my macking with my part of the blog and I sincerely apologize 😦 . No excuses right!!!!

Okay lets get right to it…..

Recently on my Facebook feed, I stumbled across an old high school friend’s recipe that she uses for her business.  She makes lunch and dinner plates for delivery in the Bay Area ( Oakland & San Francisco ) area as well as catering for private parties. One plate that stood out to me the most is her “Pineapple Chicken Bowl”.  I thought the presentation of the bowl was phenomenal and wanted to try it myself.

*Disclaimer*

In no means do I intend to take business away from her, nor do I plan to call it an original of my own,

FullSizeRender (43)

How intriguing does this plate look? Looks pretty 5-star to me, and I was up for the challenge. I started out trying to figure out what kind of plate I wanted for myself and then customize it. I hopped on Pinterest for a few “Mandarin/Orange/Sweet&Sour” chicken, and went with the easiest one to create. Of course, I’m a huge fan of sauteed onions, zucchini, squash and garlic, so I had to include those. They are my go-to veggies to sauteed with a meal and my true “ride or die” to tastes delicious with all my meals.  I finished it off with a simple white rice but I’m sure if you have the time, you can fry it as well.

The Star of this recipe is the “Cut Pineapple Bowl”. The presentation of the meal is immaculate and a huge crowd pleaser. I will not reveal all of the 5 different recipes I created into my own (that’s for another blog one day), but I will at least tell you how I got there, so you can be creative on your own.

Let’s Get Started

First thing: I used one whole pineapple. Split it in half ( which is easy but please be careful, I used the biggest knife I had and I was a little intimidated, so I went slow)  Once cut in half, I scooped out the filling and saved the chunks of pineapple for my fruit smoothies.  Scooping out was entirely harder than I thought, and the pictures on pinterest made it look like CAKE ( SIKE!!!!!)  I cut around the body but on the inside, to make it easier and used a spoon to get out the chunks. You can slice part of it to make the chunks smaller and a “smarter” transition, but it took me forever to figure that brilliant idea out. *See Picture below* Once you’ve scooped most of the core out, there will be juice inside of it floating at the bottom.  I chose to leave some juice inside just for flavor for the chicken and rice. **((Boo-Thang, said it helped with the chicken but couldn’t taste it for the rice…my sweetie always has an opinion, gotta love him))**

I put that aside and started on the rice, since that takes the longest.  Used the basic white rice, threw them in a pot, boiled in water and let it simmer until the water was absorbed.  I proceeded to cut my veggies, onions, garlic and such and started sauteeing them. Once they were cooked to my liking, I added the chicken thighs.Sliced and Diced into bite size pieces, seasoned the hell out of them, and cooked them thoroughly until brown.

Mixed the veggies in with the chicken and …… here is where i CHEATED (yes cheated, don’t judge me).  I found “Panda Express” sauces at Kroger and couldn’t resist the urge of using that instead of homemade teriyaki sauce (not this tired girl )! Smothered the meat and vegetables and let it simmer a bit.

medium

Once the rice was complete, I orchestrated how I wanted the bowl to look, and WOW! It was just to pretty to eat, but I DEF ate it !!!!

Please if you are ever in the Bay Area and want to try it from a true professional, order from her, or check out her facebook page for other delicious meals she creates!!!! She is a true chef and an amazing friend who enjoys what she does…..

Her Facebook: @Princess Sofia

Catering Buisness: SugarRush Baking Company ( which can also be found on facebook as well)

FullSizeRender (45)

Talk to you soon,

1159225571592402110316

4 thoughts on “Chicken Pineapple Bowls

Leave a Reply

